Kúabɔ̀!

Welcome to my little piece of the internet.

I’m your host, Dahoman X. You can call me DX.

“Dahoman/Dahomean” refers to the former name of my country, which accessed to independence as the Republic of Dahomey in 1960. We became the People’s Republic of Benin in 1975, then the Republic of Benin in 1990.

The “X” has nothing to do with the Nation of Islam nor any deep meaning. Understand it as in the phrases “individual X”, “individual Y”. Actually, I could have called myself “Beninese #101” but Dahoman X sounds much cooler.

As for this blog, it will be about whatever I decide to ramble on. Most posts will be about popular culture, things I like/dislike or stuff I want you to know about, or even some random thoughts about whatever I decide to bore you with. Hey, I may even address some serious issues every now and then.

Some posts will be in English, some posts will be in French. Not that I have any sentimental attachment to said languages, mind you. Accidents of history – and life – just make it that I’m semi-illiterate in the languages I actually care about. Beside, the readership for African languages is quite limited on the web.

And for those wondering, Kúabɔ̀ means welcome in Fongbe.

Stay tuned. I will be back soon.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

